Beaches and Coasts
 (Tihama Plains):
These Plains got their name due to the severity of heat and fragrant wind. Al-Sarat Mountains are the boundary between theTihama plains and the Najd plateau.

Red Sea coasts:
The length of the Saudi coast of the Red Sea is 2400 km starting from the Gulf of Aqaba in the north to Saudi-Yemeni border in the south. The width of the plain varies from one region to another, but it widen as we head south. The maximum breadth is 45 km near Jazan whereas the narrowest is about 20 km at Rabigh. In the far north, the foothills of Madyan Mountain meet with the sea water.
Red Sea coasts are replete with many of the phenomena and marine attractions as follows:

Coral Reefs

The Red Sea is one of the richest seas of the world for coral reefs, diverse and dense, which confers special beauty on the shores of the Kingdom. There are around (200) types of coral reefs with varieties of  shapes, styles and colors, because of the availability of appropriate conditions for the growth of the coral, because of the availability of appropriate conditions for the growth of the coral, including the breadth of the continental shallow shelf, high water temperature, moderate salinity ratio, serenity, and bright sunlight.
The coral reefs in Makkah Province are distributed along its coastline stretching from Rabiq until the south of Qunfudah. However, they seem to be more prevalent in some areas than the others.

Coastal marine landmarks

Red Sea coasts have many surface shapes like bays, coastal lakes, sand dunes that are formed as a result of tide and the sea surface movements - either up or down. These attractive natural phenomena are ideal opportunity for the establishment of tourist resorts and recreational projects.


Beaches are stretched along the coast. Although there are deposits of gravel and coral broken pieces on the beaches, there are beach stretches, covered with fine sand transported to land by the wind, including the shores of the Haql, Sharmah, Yanbu, Al-Shuaibah, Beesh, and Farasan beaches. Moreover, the areas parallel to the western highlands and the valleys sloping towards the sea can add a spectacular diversity to the natural views and support the tourism projects. The Kingdom is working on changing the beaches into beautiful landscape, as is the case in the Jeddah Corniche, where it was converted into the largest open-air museum in the world, featuring models art designed in the hands of international artists. Also, all squares on the seafront will be merged with the Corniche to increase the garden’s area on the seafront. 

The Arabian Gulf Coasts
The Kingdom overlooks from the east the Arabian Gulf through two seafronts, the coasts of which are about (1000) km long. One of them is the northern seafront that stretches from the point of coastal border near Kuwait until the point of coastal border with the State of Qatar, on Doha Salwa coast with a length of 900 km. The other starting from Point coastal border with Qatar Creek to the point of coastal border with the United Arab Emirates, on Dohat Al-Sumairah, constituting a (100) km.  The Gulf coast is characterized by low sea level, shallow waters, and frequent curves, resulting in the formation of many natural phenomena, namely:

Coral Reefs

The Arabian Gulf has about 60 species of coral reefs. The coral reefs stretch from Al-Khafji, from the north, to Ras Abu Qamis, in the south.

These reefs are formed into coral islands that have environmental and biological importance for being one of the most important areas that abound with turtles, birds and fish. Also, this area is considered an exciting destination for marine tourism that is visited by the diving enthusiasts. 

The Coastal Landmarks

The shallow waters of the Arabian Gulf led to formation of many creeks and bays. The headlands are the most prominent terrains, such as, Al-Qali’ah, Al-Khafji, Mish’ab, and Tannuorah.  Along the northwestern coastline, there is a phenomenon of Dakkakat (swallowing sand holes), i.e. they are thin layers of sand where some short plants grow forming sand accumulations.


The beaches that stretch along the cost are distinguished for the sand dunes that form a magnificent background for recreation events on the beach. For example, Al-Uqair beach is one of the most significant tourism and heritage sites in Al-Ahsa. It has a long record of important memories of the Gulf region and Arabian Peninsula, which were mentioned in the historical and political records, and it was considered a main commercial port for Al-Ahsa and central region on the Gulf coast. Also it is considered as one of the most beautiful Saudi coasts overlooking the Arabian Gulf since it has unspoiled nature and a clean environment. Moreover, there are sweet water wells, some ancient buildings and the proximity of several islands. There are several beaches like Menifah, Al-Jubail, Half Moon, and Al-Aqeel. In addition, lack of strong sea currents make swimming and other marine sports safely available here.

أولاً: سواحل البحر الأحمر:
(سهول تهامة):

تعود تسمية هذه السهول بهذا الاسم لشدة حرها وركود ريحها، وجبال السراة هي الحد الفاصل بين سهول تهامة ونجد.
يبلغ طول الساحل السعودي على البحر الأحمر (2400) كم تبدأ من خليج العقبة شمالا وحتى الحدود السعودية اليمنية جنوبا، حيث يتفاوت عرض السهل من منطقة لأخرى، لكنه يأخذ في الاتساع كلما اتجهنا جنوبا، فيبلغ أقصى اتساع له (45 كم) بالقرب من جازان ويأخذ في الضيق إلى نحو (20) كم عند رابغ، أما في أقصى الشمال فتلتقي أقدام جبال مدين مع مياه البحر.

تزخر سواحل البحر الأحمر بالعديد من الظواهر والمعالم البحرية ذات الجاذبية السياحية على النحو التالي:

الشعاب المرجانية
يعد البحر الأحمر من أغنى بحار العالم بالشعاب المرجانية المتنوعة والكثيفة، والتي تضفي جمالا خاصا على شواطئ المملكة، حيث يوجد نحو (200) نوع من المرجان متنوعة الأشكال والأنماط والألوان، بسبب توفر الظروف الملائمة لنمو تلك الشعاب، ومنها اتساع الجرف القاري الضحل، وارتفاع درجة حرارة المياه، واعتدال نسبة ملوحتها، وصفائها، وتمتعها بضوء الشمس الساطع.

تتوزع الشعاب المرجانية في منطقة مكة المكرمة أمام سواحلها الممتدة من رابغ حتى جنوب القنفذة، إلا أنها تبدو في بعض المناطق أكثر انتشارا منها في مواقع أخرى.

المعالم البحرية الساحلية
تتمتع سواحل البحر الأحمر بالعديد من الأشكال السطحية المميزة كالشروم، الرؤوس، الخلجان، البحيرات الساحلية، والكثبان الرملية التي تشكلت نتيجة مستوى المد والجزر، وحركة سطح البحر ارتفاعا أو هبوطا، وتعد هذه الظواهر الطبيعية الخلابة فرصة مثالية لإقامة المنتجعات السياحية والمشاريع الترفيهية.

الشواطئ
تمتد الشواطئ على طول الساحل، وبالرغم من وجود رواسب حصوية ومفتتات مرجانية على خط الشاطئ؛ إلا أن هناك امتدادات شاطئية تكسوها الرمال الناعمة المنقولة إلى اليابسة بواسطة الرياح، ومنها شواطئ حقل، شرمة، ينبع، الشعيبة، بيش، وفرسان، كما أن موازاة المرتفعات الغربية وشبكات الأودية المنحدرة منها صوب البحر تضفي على الشواطئ تنوعا في المناظر الطبيعية الجميلة، وتدعم المشاريع السياحية. وتعمل المملكة على تحويل الشواطئ إلى لوحات فنية، كما هو الحال في كورنيش جدة حيث تم تحويله إلى أكبر متحف مفتوح في العالم، يضم مجسمات فنية صممت بأيدي فنانين عالميين، كما سيتم ضم جميع الميادين الموجودة على الواجهة البحرية إلى الكورنيش لزيادة مساحة الحدائق على الواجهة البحرية.

ثانياً: سواحل الخليج العربي
تطل المملكة من الشرق على الخليج العربي بواجهتين بحريتين يبلغ طول ساحليهما نحو(1000)كم، إحداهما شمالية تبدأ من نقطة الحدود الساحلية قرب الكويت حتى نقطة الحدود الساحلية مع دولة قطر على دوحة سلوى بساحل يبلغ طوله (900)كم، والأخرى واجهة جنوبية تبدأ من نقطة  الحدود الساحلية مع دولة قطر على خور العديد حتى نقطة الحدود الساحلية مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على دوحة السميرة بساحل يبلغ طوله (100) كم، ويتميز الساحل الخليجي بانخفاضه ومياهه الضحلة، وكثرة تعرجاته مما نتج عنه تكوين العديد من الظواهر الطبيعية وهي :

الشعاب المرجانية
يوجد في الخليج العربي نحو (60) نوعا من المرجان، وتمتد الشعاب المرجانية في المياه السعودية من مدينة الخفجي شمالا وحتى رأس أبو قميص جنوبا، وتعد تلك الشعاب وما كوّنته من جزر مرجانية ذات أهمية بيئية وأحيائية كبيرة؛ لكونها من أهم المناطق التي تكثر بها السلاحف والطيور والأسماك، كما أنها وجهة مثيرة للسياحة البحرية بألوانها وتصميمها حيث يقصدها هواة الغوص.

المعالم البحرية الساحلية
أدت ضحالة مياه الخليج العربي إلى كثرة الأخوار والدوحات، وتعد الرؤوس من أكثر التضاريس بروزا مثل رؤوس القليعة، الخفجي، مشعاب، تنورة، وينتشر على طول الساحل الشمالي الغربي ظاهرة الدكاكات، وهي طبقات رقيقة من الرمال ينمو فيها بعض النباتات القصيرة التي ساعدت على تجميع الرمال وتكوين التراكمات الرملية.

الشواطئ
تزين الشواطئ الممتدة على طول الساحل الكثبان الرملية التي تشكل ستارة خلفية رائعة للفعاليات الترويحية على الشاطئ، ومنها شاطئ العقير الذي يعد من أهم المواقع السياحية والتراثية الساحلية في الأحساء، حيث يحتفظ بسجل حافل من الذكريات المهمة لمنطقة الخليج والجزيرة العربية في أمهات الكتب التاريخية والسياسية، بوصفه ميناءً تجاريا رئيسيا للأحساء والمنطقة الوسطى على ساحل الخليج، كما أنه من أجمل سواحل السعودية المطلة على الخليج العربي من حيث الطبيعة البكر والبيئة النظيفة، ووجود آبار المياه العذبة التي تنبع بجوار الساحل والمباني القديمة، وقربه من عدة جزر، بالإضافة لعدة شواطئ أخرى كشاطئ منيفة، الجبيل، نصف القمر، والعقيل. كما أن قلة تردد التيارات البحرية القوية يجعل ممارسة السباحة والرياضات البحرية الأخرى متاحة وآمنة.